#10 ONE THING

At any given moment, no matter where you are, there are hundreds of things around you that are interesting and worth documenting. This is what is written on the back of the book ‘How to be an explorer of the world’. A book that encourages you to be creative. I was already a huge fan of the book ‘Wreck this journal’ from Keri Smith (a must have). The books are a little comparable. But Explorer of the world challenges you to document everything. I’m very curious about the assignments, I’ll pick them randomly and see how far my creativity and imagination goes.

IMG_1116

What did it teach me?

The object I chose was a coconut. I found it in the grocery store while I was doing assignment #41 Found faces. The first thing I saw was that the coconut had a funny face. It looked a little bit like a fish. It remembered me of my childhood. My mom sometimes bought a coconut, but at that time I didn’t like the taste so much. But know I love it. That made it a little easier to look at a coconut for 15 minutes… 15 minutes!!! I’m that kind of person that is not that good in concentrating for a long time and who gets bored pretty fast. So staring at one thing for 15 minutes was really difficult. But it thought me that the longer you look the thing you thought was one thing becomes more things. My coconut started looking like a fish. I even saw the fins at a sudden moment.

Leave a Reply

