#59 HOW TO WANDER AIMLESSLY

At any given moment, no matter where you are, there are hundreds of things around you that are interesting and worth documenting. This is what is written on the back of the book ‘How to be an explorer of the world’. A book that encourages you to be creative. I was already a huge fan of the book ‘Wreck this journal’ from Keri Smith (a must have). The books are a little comparable. But Explorer of the world challenges you to document everything. I’m very curious about the assignments, I’ll pick them randomly and see how far my creativity and imagination goes.

What did it teach me?

It felt a little strange in the beginning… I was packing my bag and I didn’t know what to pack because I didn’t know where I was heading. Sometimes I’m a little bit controlling. I need to know where we go so I can prepare everything.

IMG_1112

I decided to take my walk in my hometown Nuenen. I started at my house. It felt very unnatural to do the exact opposite of what I wanted to do. When I wanted to go right, I had to go left. It gave me a very strange feeling. But when I started to let it go, I noticed that I let the control go a little. During my walk I started thinking. About everything. Normally I avoid those thoughts. But know because I was walking alone, at that time I already arrived in the small woods of Nuenen, I didn’t have a choice. And during my conflict with myself if I had to turn right when I wanted to go left or the other way around. When I turned around to walk back I realised that this simple walk turned out to be a very useful time to think. I think I will start doing this more often. Take some time for myself, taking a little walk.

Leave a Reply

